Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Apply for Membership

Oil & Gas Matters
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (144) posts »

OOGA Awards Tom Stewart with 2016 Oilfield Patriot Award

Posted By Lyndsey Kleven, Communications Coordinator, Monday, August 22, 2016

During an August 15 ceremony, the Ohio Oil and Gas Association (OOGA) presented Tom Stewart, former executive vice president of the OOGA and principal at Oilfield Policy Advisors with the Oilfield Patriot Award, an annual honor bestowed by the trade association.

Established in 2006, the award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to protect, promote and advance the common interests of those engaged in all aspects of Ohio’s crude oil and natural gas industry. Stewart was honored for his long-time advocacy on behalf of the industry, which has included working with both state and federal legislators and representing the interests of Ohio’s oil and gas producers for more than two decades. Stewart’s advocacy for producers wasn’t limited to actions before the legislature; he was also integral in negotiating a landmark agreement between producers and Dominion East Ohio that benefitted all parties.

“The Oilfield Patriot Award was made for someone like Tom Stewart,” said David Hill, president of the Ohio Oil and Gas Association. “The legacy he has left behind on Ohio’s oil and gas industry has brought countless benefits to the industry and the members he represented. Simultaneously, Tom’s vision helped to establish a practical regulatory structure in Ohio and prevented onerous rules from entering our state. He has and continues to be a tireless champion for this industry and is a very deserving recipient of this prestigious award.”

A resident of Lancaster, Stewart is a third generation oilman. Beginning his career in the oilfields in the 1970s, Stewart was tapped to become executive vice president of the Association in 1991 and held that role until 2014. Stewart led the Association through numerous legislative battles, always relentlessly fighting to protect and advance the common interest of all the Association’s members. Stewart was a visionary who led the Association in embracing new producers into the state with the development of Ohio’s shale industry.

Past Oilfield Patriots include: Jerry Olds (2015), William G. Batchelder (2014), William Kinney (2013), Rhonda Reda (2012), Steven L. Grose (2011), David R. Hill (2010), James R. Smail (2009), W. Jonathan Airey (2008), Sarah Tipka (2007) and Jerry James (2006).

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Sign In

Latest Blog Posts