Oil & Gas Matters
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (178) posts »

OOGA Honors Frank and Doug Gonzalez with the 2017 Oilfield Patriot Award

Posted By Lyndsey Kleven, Communications Coordinator, Thursday, August 10, 2017

During an August 7 ceremony, the Ohio Oil and Gas Association (OOGA) presented Frank Gonzalez and Doug Gonzalez, co-owners of GonzOil, Inc. with the 2017 Oilfield Patriot Award, sponsored by Producers Service Corporation, an annual honor bestowed by the trade association at its annual Summer Meeting held at Zanesville Country Club.


Established in 2006, the award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to protect, promote and advance the common interests of those engaged in all aspects of Ohio’s crude oil and natural gas industry. The Gonzalez brothers are the first pair to receive the award since its inception. They were honored for their long-time advocacy on behalf of the industry, which has included working with state legislators and devout involvement within the Ohio Oil and Gas Association since the late 1980’s. The two brothers founded GonzOil, based in Canton and have been successful independent oil and gas producers in Ohio for nearly three decades.


“The Oilfield Patriot Award was made for people like Frank and Doug,” said Jim Aslanides, President of the Ohio Oil and Gas Association. “The legacy that these men leave has brought countless benefits to the Ohio oil and gas industry. Simultaneously, Doug’s involvement throughout the years on the Technical Advisory Council (TAC) helping to establish a practical regulatory structure in Ohio has benefitted everyone in the state’s industry. Frank is a tireless champion for this industry through his involvement with the OOGA, and they are both so deserving of this prestigious award.”


Residents of Canton, GonzOil, Inc. was incorporated in 1988 after they both decided to leave stable careers and go to work for themselves. Doug is a graduate from Kent State University with a degree in geology; Frank is a graduate from Ohio University and received his MBA from Harvard Business School. GonzOil drilled its first well in 1989. Their focus has always been to drill high quality wells, since they did not own their own drilling rigs, they never felt the need to drill a lot of wells.


Past Oilfield Patriot Awards include: Tom Stewart (2016), Jerry Olds (2015), William G. Batchelder (2014), William Kinney (2013), Rhonda Reda (2012), Steven L. Grose (2011), David R. Hill (2010), James R. Smail (2009), W. Jonathan Airey (2008), Sarah Tipka (2007) and Jerry James (2006).


A special thank you goes to Producers Service Corporation, who has sponsored this award since its inception in 2006. 

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Main Office
88 E Broad Street, Suite 1400
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614.824.3901
Fax: 614.824.4329